Love?!?

In a fit of really bad procrastination, I am posting up another blog entry…about love. WHAT? Did I just say that?

Let me explain.
I’m Eritrean. (If you don’t know what that is…please google it…)
In our culture, parents don’t share personal narratives about their love together, especially during a child’s adolescence. Instead, we’re told get married to an Eritrean man and make us beautiful Eritrean grandbabies, live happily with your parents….and love…well, love God and He’ll provide you with a proper Eritrean man.

But I think all the romantic comedies have gotten to me and now…I’ve written a love poem. (For my habesha* readers, I KNOW….CRAZY). I really do hope I get to experience the love I write about and one day make myself and my habesha* community happy.

*Habesha=Habesha is a term Ethiopians and Eritreans use to refer to themselves. Habesha is a term of pride and used to eliminate the distinction between different tribes and celebrate unity as people of the same region.
For example : You ask “Are you habesha?” instead of “Are you Ethiopian/Eritrea?”
http://www.urbandictionary.com/define.php?term=Habesha

To my Future Lover:

I hope
imaginary bombs drop
the moment our eyes connect.

I hope every clock stops ticking from the moment we meet
while we revel in forever

I hope that I meet you today versus tomorrow
just because I’m impatient

I hope we both end up on a deserted island
with no chance of leaving
so it could just be me and you

I hope that when my hair grows as white as an eggshell
and my face wrinkles with lines of memory lane
you’ll still love me
like the first time you say “I love you”

I hope that you never have to worry about being jealous,
because you know I will always love you

Thanking God every moment of every minute of every second
for ever creating you

I want to trace the lines
on the roadmap that led me to you
stopping at every detour, accident, and traffic jam
and feel the ruggedness of our terrain

I want to click empty on every memory of any person that came before you
to reassure the world that I only love God, you, and our family

I want to learn how to say “I love you” in every language
so in case you don’t speak English,
I can still say “I love you.”

I want to love so hard that
I forget my name
because my mind is filled with you

I want to tell the world corny lines about you, like
in the dictionary,
right after the words,
beautiful, love, and mine,
is a picture of you

I want to love you more than
food, water, and shelter
because in your arms,
you are my everything

I want to vow
that I’ll never leave you
and promise you forever
times two

I don’t ever want to make love to you,
I want to make love with you

I want our every touch
to rain treasures on our memory
I want our every kiss
to impregnate happiness
and I want our every gaze
to create our own galaxy.

I want my every dream
to watercolor our shared memories
and my every nightmare
to wash away any moment of separation

I want to die with you,
because I wouldn’t be able to imagine a life without you

but if I die before you,
I want to ask God for permission
to wait at the Pearly Gates
until you join me.

And if you die before me,
I want to paint gasoline on the bottom of my soul
wait until the burned ashes of my heart
have fallen
and
watch the flames rekindle our love over and over

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.